The Play
Gul-e-Bakavali is a play based on an original popular fairy tale written in Persian. Many films have been made on this story, in various languages including Tamil, Telugu, Punjabi, Urdu and others. This production has a new script in a musical format. It has originated from the state of Reva on the banks of the river Narmada. Although Gubbi Veeranna’s Nataka Mandali used to play this story on stage, this version is totally new.

The Director
M S Sathyu has been into theatre since the 1950s. He has a number of plays to his credit, in Hindi, Urdu, Kannada and English. He is also a set and costume designer, having designed almost 100 plays in Gujarati, Marathi, Hindi, Kannada and English, for various groups of Delhi, Bangalore and Bombay. He is also a film producer and director.
The Playwright Sudhir Attavar is a new playwright of Kannada. He is a lyricist in Kannada films. He has also
produced and directed films in Kannada. This version of the play is totally original. It brings about the fairy tale in an effective manner. This year he has received the Karnataka Sahitya Academy Award for Gul-e-Bakavali.

The Group
Amateur Dramatic Association (ADA) is the oldest theatre group of Bangalore, formed over a hundred years ago. The group has its own fully equipped theatre, with a capacity of 600, called ADA Rangamandira. The group has produced a number of plays in English and Kannada. The Rangamandira is also let out for dance, music and other theatrical activities. Gule-e-Bakavali is its latest production with an altogether new set of actors and dancers. This is a collaborative production of Amateur Dramatic Association (ADA) and M S Sathyu Productions.

Cast & Credits

On Stage . Imran Pasha, Sarika, Pavithra PS,
Aishwarya Bhaskar, Vasudha Bharighat,
Sriprasad, Pradeep Kumar,
Rakhesh Adiga/ Ninad Harithsa,
Srivatsa KS, Manoj Kumar, Shreyas,
Yogesh, Sushma Nanaiah, Vidya Chakravarthy,
Hiranmaie S
Sound Vanishree Kulkarni
D├ęcor MC Chethan
Lights Arun Murthy
Make-up NK Ramakrishna
Costumes Jayanthi Marulasiddhappa
Singers Chandrashekar, Subramanya Hegde, Shivalinga, Akanksha Badami
Music Sameer Kulkarni
Co-director MC Anand
Asst. Director Sushma Nanaiah
Playwright Sudhir Attavar
Director M S Sathyu